9 Surprising Things That Might Not Be Vegetarian


1 Beer and wine: may contain fish bladders.
Some alcoholic drinks, particularly beer, wine and cider, are clarified using animal-derived substances, such as isinglass (from the swim bladders of fish), chitosan (made from crustaceans) and gelatin. Vegetarian clarifiers can be made from bentonite (a type of clay) or derived from algae.

To see which beers, wines and other drinks are vegetarian-friendly, check out